What's new
What's new

ISO Certification and oil related manufacturing

pgmrmike

Hot Rolled
Another lively thread got me to wondering whether ISO would help non aero or govt machine shops get work.

I have a small shop, 2 full time guys ( including myself ) and 2 part time guys. We are a bit north of Houston. Almost all we do is oil related. I am having a tough time picking up new customers. Actually tough is an understatement. It has proven to be nearly impossible.

I have been evaluating weaknesses and trying to correct this issue. We do not have a quality problem. We do not have a delivery problem. I have been told directly that we are lower cost than other shops my existing customers deal with ( not that it matters-if you are cheaper you get it. Right? )

We do have a salesman problem. I am a terrible salesman, and not particularly likable. People dont dislike me, Im not a jerk or anything. Just not likable or fun.

We may have a size/image problem. We are small. 2 cnc lathes and a 4 axis cnc mill. This issue cant be fixed until business dictates it. Not buying machines for nonexistent work.

So maybe ISO would take some of the negative connotations of being small? Maybe if ISO certified, size would be overlooked?

Would it even matter?

Opinions?

Another lively thread got me to wondering whether ISO would help non aero or govt machine shops get work.

I have a small shop, 2 full time guys ( including myself ) and 2 part time guys. We are a bit north of Houston. Almost all we do is oil related. I am having a tough time picking up new customers. Actually tough is an understatement. It has proven to be nearly impossible.

I have been evaluating weaknesses and trying to correct this issue. We do not have a quality problem. We do not have a delivery problem. I have been told directly that we are lower cost than other shops my existing customers deal with ( not that it matters-if you are cheaper you get it. Right? )