What's new
What's new

Just Need To Vent - One Man Shop Running Beoyond Max Cap.

LFEngineering

Cast Iron
First off let me say: "I'm not complaining". Too much work is like too much money; problems I'd like to have. That being said I'm starting to get stressed out. I've spent the past 3 years building my one-man machine & fabrication outfit and now the work is pouring in. I work full time as a tool designer & process engineering at a local wire drawing company from 5a-1:30p, then run my shop form 1:45-6ish M-F (or at least that was the plan). Since before Thanksgiving I've had a steady increase in work & I'm now working 1:45-9p M-F & 7-5 Sat / Sun.

I've always been a manual shop, but recently retrofitted my Bridgeport with steppers & Linux CNC to help ease the work load. It took about a week to get the CNC conversion running, but it's been cranking out parts since. I've tried streamlining every thing I do and it helped a little, but I'm still getting further behind every week. Unfortunately I don't really have enough work to support employees, yet I'm one bad week away from turning down work.

The answer is and always will be hard work, but I'm open to any ideas at this point.

:cheers:

hire a high school kid to run the mill(cheap). teach him the trade a bit. in a few years you'll buy him a full on cnc and kick back while he earns you a check. when i say he i mean he or she...but probably he

I've toyed with the idea of going solo, but it's hard to compete with insurance, retirement, paid vacations & good pay. I look at my shop as "overtime" that I can control. When we get slow at work I always have something to pass the time. I didn't start my shop to be a business, I started my shop because I enjoy making things. Just figured I'd make parts for other people and get paid rather then spend money on my own projects.