What's new
What's new

Leaving gracefully

macds

Hot Rolled
Gentlemen,

Ive been building up to this for a few years.
The last two have taken a toll on my physical and mental health.
Working 18-20 hours a day seems to finally be paying off but my personal life has suffered.
Im in a healthy (Im FAR from rich) debt free situation. No mortgage, all equipment is owned.

I intend on submitting my resignation to my present employer. The last 5 years have seen a significant change in the culture of the shop, more towards toxic.
I have established a number of very positive contacts through word of mouth, and business dealings.

I feel that now is the right time to go on my own.

As a business owner, what would you like to see from one of your top tier guys when he decides its time?
Do you understand the reasons why he may feel the necessity of doing his own thing? Can you appreciate that?
Willingness to stay on until people can be trained, or can immediately for "not being on the bus"

Would you be willing to maintain a positive relationship with a former employee (perhaps sharing some work?) I am capable of work the day job can not do, and vice versa.

I am by no means looking to leech work, or steal customers. That to me is the worst kind of karma.

I love where I work, I really enjoy most of the people, but the culture is just not good for me.

Do i REALLY let the owner know why Im leaving (shitty management, and they have been told that by almost everyone), or do I play nice and say Im just not challenged enough (I had brought this up before, with no change)?

Kind of scary leaving the nursery, but I got this :)

You're asking to have a positive relation and maybe share work with your current employer but then ask if you should tell him about a toxic environment and shitty management. Don't think that's going to fly.