Looking for ideas on hiring apprentices - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Try calling up the department head at the Austin Community College manufacturing department. They dont have machining per se, but they have both engineering technology and welding 2 year degree programs. I have been hiring kids from CC welding programs for 3 decades now, and have consistently gotten reliable, hardworking, mechanically adept young people who are really interested in learning more. In my shop, I do what machining we need, mostly for tooling and some special parts, and my employees are more welder fabricators, but over the years I have had several who were amateur machinists already. A 2 year degree program kid has already spent their own time and money learning about tools, shop practice, shop math, materials, and is generally exactly the kind of person you want to train in the specialized stuff- I know, I have been doing exactly that since 1985. I know the instructors at three local schools, when I need somebody, I call em up, (not email, I talk to em and explain what skills I want) and they send me potential applicants to interview. The instructors pre-select their best students. I usually hire part time final semester kids, and then take me to full time when they graduate.

2. Likes CPM2014, cnctoolcat, Griffin liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Ries View Post