What's new
What's new

Machine shop software woes!

EnvisionERP

Plastic
Hello All,

So I'm a hobbyist when it comes to machining, I dabble in 3D printing, CAD design & some CNC. But I'm a software engineer by trade, I've been writing software for over 15 years.

It seems to me that a lot of shops struggle with organizing work orders, purchase orders, invoices, inventory control and all the other fun logistical stuff.

I'm in the process of building a web based ERP system and I'm looking for input from folks that work in the machining industry on the biggest headaches they face day to day in managing their daily production flow.

My overall goal is to build a software package that will streamline and centralize all record keeping which would allow people to spend less time managing documents and orders and focus more on machining and job acquisition.

In the near future I'll also be looking for some shops that might be interested in trying my software out and getting their thoughts on it. If anyone is interested in that please let me know as well.

Curious to hear your thoughts!

I own a professional shop and have a higher end professional ERP system. I would consider jeopardizing my operation with software put together by a hobbyist for what reason?

I own a professional shop and have a higher end professional ERP system. I would consider jeopardizing my operation with software put together by a hobbyist for what reason?

Great question. I'm a machining hobbyist, however I am a professional software engineer. I've held senior software engineer positions at companies that specifically develop MRP and ERP software.