What's new
What's new

Machinist Apprenticeship

jbhotrod

Plastic
Hello yall, I was just wondering what all opportunities might be out there for me in the Fulton County, Gwinnett County, Dekalb County, etc surrounding areas in Georgia. I would very much like to get a job in a machine shop in an apprentice role. I don't have any formal trade schooling, but I aint totally clueless either. I grew up aside my diesel mechanic father in the shop learning as much as I could from him as we turned wrenches on whatever cars/trucks came in. Also helped with upkeep on the 2500 acre pine plantation.
But Ive never been actually employed by a machine shop nor did I go to trade school. I have a Bachelor's Degree in Cyber Security(I feel CNC programming won't be an issue for me to learn) but really want to take my career in another direction. To be completely honest, I want to learn everything I can about machining. Eventually, I'd like to either work for or own my own business manufacturing single point cut rifled barrels; it is a subject I couldn't be more interested in.
However, for now, I'd simply like to get my foot in the door of the industry in whatever way is possible.
Am I shooting for the stars here? Unrealistic expectations?

They say do what you love and you won't work a day in your life.. well, as I said, rifle barrel manufacturing and just the precision involved in machining in general... its the most enjoyable career I could possibly dream of. Thanks for any/all advice, pointers, tips, references(?)..
JB

Don't give up the Diesel shop or the plantation.
Going back to the Civil War technology in rifling is not going to be a money maker.