What's new
What's new

Machinist to management transition

lx545

Aluminum
I have been a machinist for going on 14 years now. I have been in a lead machinist position for 1 1/2 years now as well as prior supervisory experience. I handle daily management tasks such as scheduling overtime,coordinating workflow and work processing steps in the machine shop and the general shop when my boss is absent. I also still make parts. I do enjoy the satisfaction of taking material to print.I also understand to make more money generally transition to management is necessary at some point. My question is for those who have experienced the trasition. I have a fear of being a washed up machinist, a has been. We all know the type. How have you dealt with the hands off aspect? Losing the satisfaction of making awesome beautiful parts not everyone can make is kind of a bitter reality but teaching and coaching others is a beneficial reward. I am aware of the pros and cons of the job but am hung up on the has been thing. Pride maybe...

I think your concern about the issue is the fist indication that you will be okay. The has-been manager is the one who knew everything 20 years ago, but stopped learning technical skills the second they got into management. Part of it is atrophy, but part of it is the type of self-promotion (or possible exaggeration of talent) that lends itself to management.

Reading, networking, and seizing any opportunities to make "hands on" technical contributions are all critical to staying sharp. To some extent though, it's unavoidable. In my experience most (if not all) good managers start to loose technical skills as they develop their leadership skills.