What's new
What's new

New Machine for one customer..............

david n

Diamond
So most of us know about Wheelie's predicament...........bought that Brother for one customer and now the work tanked. I had a post over on his thread about how we can learn from his situation.......So, how to bring in that new equipment and not get hung out to dry if things head south?

I'm not quite in the same boat, but I do have one customer that has been steadily growing and the last 2 years has really ramped up orders both in volume and frequency. I've been making OEM parts for this outfit for close to 14 yrs now. Great customer, ALWAYS pays on time, doesn't balk at price increases, very open about design/ease of mfg, etc............. Started out with prototypes and small runs.....now I have over 40 part numbers and volumes just continue to rise. It's gettin close to affecting my output to other customers..............nothing huge, but my lead times have grown a bit...........and nothing anyone is getting upset about. But I want to stay ahead of possible issues.

As of now, no new machines are needed....................but, they have a pile of more work and it would require a dual spindle Y axis lathe with a barfeeder. Sure the work could be knocked off in a 2 axis rig and then over to the mill. But being a one man band, I need done in one capabilities. Only so many hrs in the day.............

So my question is............... how have you shop owners approached customers with the concept of bringing in that one piece of equipment? This outfit maybe open to a contract...........at least to the tune of enough work to cover the cost of the machine. Is that possible? Any customers ever agree to that? Any shops here agree to that? Any other avenues? Just looking to cover my A$$ets.................