What's new
What's new

Sales Rep Commission Rates and Schedules

Is the commission on just the jobs he finds, or for any work you get from a customer he found? Commission on the net or the gross?

Hold on a sec. It can't be that cut and dry. $50k plus commission?

I have been putting some thought into this also. I have about 1000 questions, because I have zero experience in the area. But, I do know, I am watching (and working at) a perfectly good machine-shop, while it spirals down the drain because it lacks a sales department. I definitely see the value of a sales rep. But, I would think the base salary would be lower, and commission a little higher. I mean, seriously, It took me over 12yrs to better $50k as a machinist. You know, the guy who actually does the work.

how many machines would this $50k sales rep. be expected to keep busy? Does he work on-site? Or remote? Are his hours tracked? Is there travel involved? Who pays expenses?

Does there exist such a professional that would represent several smaller shops? For less money.

For what its worth though: The owner of the shop I work at did have a sales rep. interested in pushing us.
He came to the shop several times. And seemed very interested. Almost excited. Said he saw great potential. Thought he could really turn the place around. (he was doing quite the job of selling himself!!) His expectations were: $52k and 2% with a one year contract. Now, we are a small shop. One 4-axis VMC, and one 2-axis med. capacity lathe. I don't see how we could absorb that extra $50k unless he brought in enough work to warrant another shift. Which raises payroll significantly. He would have to generate at least $300k in sales for the company to benefit. And we would be stretching the shops capabilities.

I am sure sales is what the shop is lacking. But $50k before commission? Really?

Last edited: