What's new
What's new

What to expect from a senior-level machinist?

mikethezipper

Plastic
I'll start all of this off by admitting my complete ignorance on the subject.
My question: How much should I expect from a senior-level machinist? How about in the $25-27hr with benefits range?

I'm more or less in charge of the shop at a small engineering services company that has some machines and one machinist, where we mostly make prototype parts for our customers.

I stopped doing the machining myself because as a young/self-taught machinist, I was taking quite some time to make parts. I felt like I was taking too long and that the company I worked for would be better off with a more experienced machinist, so I convinced the owner to hire an experienced machinist, and keep me on design work.

The problem I'm having now is that the gentleman keeps scrapping stuff. In recent memory, I can't remember anything being made that hasn't had a 50% scrap rate from runs of 10-20 parts.

Is this normal in a shop? We don't do runs of any part in quantities greater than 20, and I know that setup and getting the kinks worked out is one thing, but what should I be expecting from someone at this $/hr range?

It seems I hear that in this area good machinists are hard to find. I know some people will call :icon_bs: , but it is my experience. We ran an ad for some time and got only a couple (as in TWO) seemingly qualified applicants. Big company too, lots of bennies, pretty "in" place to work. I have heard from the two older guys I work with (long time in the area) I am definitely one of the best they worked with. Now not tooting my own horn (well, just a little :D), but I think the people that are really good at this trade take it for granted that what we are doing is the norm IMO...