What's new
What's new

Starting my own shop

MrBreeze90

Plastic
Hi everyone!

I have been working in machine shops for about 10 years now and have worked my way up to programmer. I have been a programmer for about 3 years, so I have a decent amount of experience. I am looking to branch out on my own and start a one man shop doing small runs and odd jobs for shops in my area. I have started doing my homework, as far as, work in my area and machine prices. I have yet to find a good space to call home though. Does anyone have any solid advice or tips for me before I begin. Anything will help at all!

Thanks in advance!

Being not a shop owner, the only possibly useful input I have here is from observing shops I've worked at, in, or bought stuff from. The people who did best starting their own shops had the customers lined up first. Preferably customers with high value, specialized, contract work.

Do you have any relationships with potential customers? Local businesses in biotech, energy, aerospace, engineering consulting firms? Got a garage to stuff a machine into to start off as a part time thing while you keep your day job?

Aaaand hot dog cart in 3,2,1..... :D

Hi everyone!

I have been working in machine shops for about 10 years now and have worked my way up to programmer. I have been a programmer for about 3 years, so I have a decent amount of experience. I am looking to branch out on my own and start a one man shop doing small runs and odd jobs for shops in my area. I have started doing my homework, as far as, work in my area and machine prices. I have yet to find a good space to call home though. Does anyone have any solid advice or tips for me before I begin. Anything will help at all!

Thanks in advance!

Do not quit your job to do this! Unless you have a sugar-momma who can easily float ALL the bills, and is 100% on board with your plans?