What's new
What's new

Texas sales tax exemption

Shawn_Laughlin

Aluminum
How do I go about getting a Texas sales and use tax exemption?

What are the steps do I need to take?

Or what kind of person do I need to be talking to? A cpa or accountant. I know,I know,I’m laughing at myself as well.

I’ve been reading for hours and hours until the screen started to go blurry and I feel like in just spinning my wheels. It’s like reading city ordinances. They word stuff that seem to contradict what they said one paragraph before.

I have a DBA and I have my EIN number but to be honest im lost. Throw some metal in front of me and I can build just about anything within the capability of my tools and even a little more and be perfectly comfortable and confident but I’ve been doing it for 23 years but this other fweeew it can’t be that hard. I guess it just takes learning like everything else.

4 months ago I think I wouldve threw up when read the words city hall but thankfully we are all learning how to do our jobs and be safe and it’s getting easier to get in touch with them. Thank yall

In Ohio I would need a Vendor License to collect and submit sales tax. If I sell to the general public, this is what I would need.
Is this what you're asking?

Since I'm a machine shop that only sells to businesses, I submit a Blanket Sales Tax Exempt form with each vendor I need to buy from and I'm not charges sales tax. There are multiple acceptable reasons to be tax exempt, you'd have to decide which fits your situation.

Edit: Found this
Texas Sales Tax Exemption for Manufacturing | Agile Consulting Group

Ignore the Agile Group link. They will charge you to do what you can do yourself by following #4 in the link to the comptrollers office. At some point, the comptroller will send someone to your facility and ask questions and poke around.