What's new
What's new

Training young people

Bondo

Hot Rolled
So since people are sooo quick to jump on my shit about training the new generation, I want everyone to post how many people under 26 they have, training, and what they are doing to help out.

At our local Salem County Votech... We use to have 2 large (500+ employee) contractors plus the Salem nuclear plant use the Votech as a hiring place for new recruits. In 2000, when I graduated, we were getting donations out the wazoo from large companies for welding materials, rods, wire, and new welders. As of 2010, all donations have halted, from everyone. The new students have to work off scraps and they don't have the budget for welding rods. The reason that I understand from the teachers... "the companies are not getting the workmanship they use to recieve".

So I want to know, how many owners and shop supervisors are doing something to push welding, fabrication, and machining to the young people!!!!

I am not a large company, but I have tried to teach over a dozen students, employees for me and not, plus I am an active member for our boy scout troop which I help with all of the trades and camping as I am an eagle scout of the troop. As you need money, they need money.... And people to help out and I barely read about anyone helping out.

I own/built my business myself, have a family and I still take time to help out the newer generation. What is everyone else doing to support.... Where is your donation of time, or 3/8 x 6 flatbar for a bend test, or some material for machining....

Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk

So since people are sooo quick to jump on my shit about training the new generation, I want everyone to post how many people under 26 they have, training, and what they are doing to help out.