What's new
What's new

Wages and bonuses based on surface area machined

RustyRedneck

Aluminum
Hey all, I've been working at this small manufacturing shop for almost 2 years and over that time, I've gone from money in the bank to timing my bills and stretching about everything to the breaking point. I asked for a raise a while ago and the boss said I was well worth it and had already been figured into my next paycheck. Then he comes to me today and says, "We talked it over and instead of going up to the number you'd mentioned, we'd give you a bonus of some sort of bonus each month for total area machined." That kind of left me wondering, what about if the machine breaks down and I can't get anything machined for a while, or like a few months ago when they sent some parts to be machined and I was left with my hands in my pockets. He mentioned they'd heard of other companies doing this and I was wondering if any of you have had this before and how it normally works out. Let me know what you think.

Sounds like he just plain don't have the money, so it's an easy way for him to say you didn't meet whatever goal to get a bonus.
If someone tried this kinda goofy shit on me, I'd start looking for another job.
It's not gonna get better.

never heard of a scheme like this- my response would be:

"oh, you need it decked down 1"? I'll do it in .010 d.o.c. increments, that's a hundred times the surface area......"

I'm not entirely sure how long I'd stick it out at a job that saw my bank account decreasing every month...

Run away, go find somewhere else to work..

Years ago I had a neighbor ( a kid in college ) who was an auto mechanic, anyway he was getting 2% of what he "sold"...

So think about this, after I broke it down to hours worked etc, he was getting fucked financially..

Same concept with area machined.....