What's new
What's new

What is the worst machine shop you ever worked at?

benrobuck

Plastic
For me it is the one I just got fired from.
They couldn't even afford tap oil so we were using used motor oil out of someones car to tap with. Most of the employees couldn't speak english. My boss (he was from poland) had a roughly 900 word english vocabulary and he likes to drink at work. Because all of the collets were trashed I had to put the Bridgeport in low gear every time I changed the endmill or else I couldn't tighten it up enough and the endmill would slide up into the collet. So one of the retarded people that I was working with doesn't have enough common sense to put the machine back in low gear to change tools. He can't speak english so he whines to my boss about it. So then my boss that I just told you about yells at me for overtightening the draw bar and tells me that I am not a machinist at this company, now I am a welder here.
They weren't willing to spend any money on rags or drill bits either, almost every time I made a tapped hole I ended up using an undersized drill after wasting thirty or forty minutes searching for the correct size drill.

I am not making this up.

My own, I can't afford the proper phase converter so I have to be reeally easy on the lathe clutch or the VFD trips. The 3 jaw chuck does not have the proper back so we chuck it into the 4-jaw. The the boss won't get anything better than the f-in chinese dividing head that is so hard to turn and yet has 5 degrees slop, and he wants me to turn out good work on it. I have to get the work, bid on it, order materials, get started, do it right, keep going, check my work, pick up my own swarf, clean the machine when I'm done, bill the customer, put the tools away, make him pay, keep my head on streight, pay the bills, keep all the supplies on hand, and keep on going..... Oh yeah, he won't let me quit until I put a 16 hour day in, 6 days a week... Such an awfull boss...