What's new
What's new

Would you hire (or fire) this guy?

Greenwud

Hot Rolled
Have had a potential employee come by, looking for work.
Quiet, unconventional, unassuming type, fairly tidy, well educated but self-taught woodworker. Gave him a few tasks to do and he has shown me he is capable of good work at a reasonable pace, albeit with a few unconventional ways of doing things. Gave him a few tasks to do with minimal instruction as to what standard I want and - the outcome is well finished and well proportioned. The work is worth its wage.
Few references and those that have employed this chap have mentioned that his quietness is unnerving, he seems to lack confidence and sometimes sabotages his good intentions. Other people who know this guy have been outright slanderous.

Comments?

Quiet, unconventional, unassuming type, fairly tidy, well educated but self-taught woodworker. Gave him a few tasks to do and he has shown me he is capable of good work at a reasonable pace, albeit with a few unconventional ways of doing things. Gave him a few tasks to do with minimal instruction as to what standard I want and - the outcome is well finished and well proportioned. The work is worth its wage.
Few references and those that have employed this chap have mentioned that his quietness is unnerving, he seems to lack confidence and sometimes sabotages his good intentions. Other people who know this guy have been outright slanderous.

Comments?

How hard is it going to be to fire him if he doesn't work out? Over here with unfair dismissal laws, lots of small businesses I know think 3 times before starting anyone new unless they are really confident it's OK.

As for slanderous comments, you need to consider the source(s). However, if 3 people who don't know each other hold the same slanderous opinion about someone, it's likely to be more or less accurate. I for example have a reputation for being an arrogant smart-arse. This is accurate..... and I'm happy that way.

PDW