What's new
What's new

how to make smooth cut?

grinch

Cast Iron
I'm new to machining and just got a bridgeport to play with. I've trammed the head and all but I can seem to get smooth cuts. I go slow and use alot of cutting fluid but I'm never really happy with what I get I can always see and feel ridges or waves. even after going over the same area several times on the same pass and up cutting only a few thou on the last pass very slowly. I get this weather I'm using the bottom of the end mill or the side to cut with.

Any help would be great
Thansk
grinch

If you want a super smooth finish then i would either use an inserted facing mill or a fly cutter. Also if you use a big radius it helps. As far as getting completely rid of the little swirls... dont count on it. you should be able to get to a point where you cant feel any steps though.
It would help to know what type of material you are machining???
hope this helps.

You say you are "getting this whether using the side or the bottom of the mill"

Are you taking the lost motion out of the screw and locking the table against the cut in the axis not being used to traverse the work? If you (for instance) move the saddle "in" (toward the column) and are cutting on the side toward you, when the cutter hits the work, the saddle will try to move in more until it hits the backside of the screw threads (takes up the play) which resists it. Then, if the cut is heavy and the saddle is not locked, it will bounce agains the screw as the cut progresses and each tooth of the mill hits. If you are cutting "with the end" of the mill, the teeth will first try to drag. the saddle out, then shove it back in, as the cut progresses, if it is not locked.

So take up the lost motion, and lock the travels not in use (should go without saying, lock the quill too.)

Also, get with someone who can check if your gibs are correctly adjusted, so the table is not sloppy when it is in motion.

Good luck!
smt