What's new
What's new

Colt Series 80 Trigger Work

de50ae

Plastic
Hey guys, Im new to the Colt 1911 family of firearms and just purchased a used Series 80 stainless that has had some sort of trigger work done to it. I noticed that the firing pin plunger and spring are gone underneath the slide. I emailed the gentleman that I purchased the gun from and he said that those parts would ruin the trigger job that had been done to the pistol. I can see from the scematics that the plunger puts some pressure on the sear via the plunger lever and the trigger bar lever. I guess that my question is why is it necessary to remove factory Colt parts leaving a hole under the slide to collect powder and brass shavings in and around the firing pin and spring to have a trigger job?

Some owner/ gunsmiths believe you couldn't get a quality trigger job with the series 80 safety parts installed, they are wrong and there are a number of ways to get good trigger response and feel with the parts installed. The gunsmith who did the work was being lazy. You can contact Colt directly or one of the major custom shops that know how to do it properly. Brownell's catalog has all the parts to do it right.

Series 80 guns have a few more parts to polish so rather than polish more parts they pull out the extra parts and install a spacer in the right hand side of the frame. Id much rather have the series 70 guns but good trigger jobs can be done on the 80 series without removing parts.