What's new
What's new

Threading rifle barrels

JW Machine

Aluminum
I am not new to machining, but now have some gunsmithing work for the first time and would appreciate some advice.

I need to thread the ends of some new barrels to fit them into receivers. I am planning to indicate off the bore for this, chucking on the cylindrical portion of the barrel just ahead of the receiver, as the rest of its length is tapered.

My question is this: Is the barrel OD parallel enough to the bore for this to be accurate? I know they are not necessarily coaxial, but I can adjust for this with my chuck. However, if they are not parallel, I think I will need to find a new way to indicate or hold the barrel to make sure the threads are both parallel and coaxial with the bore.

As I said, I am new to gunsmithing. Is this a valid concern, or am I attempting to achieve an unnecessary level of accuracy?

Do a web search for "cat's head chuck" or "Cat head chuck"

Essentially it is a set of four screws that are used very much like a four jaw chuck. Then picture one on the back end of the lathe spindle.

With one of those on the back of the spindle, and the breech end in a 4 jaw chuck, one then spends a great deal of time dialing everything to dead nuts zero.
Then thread it.
There is no guaruntee that the bore is truly concentric with the outside. Hopefully it is close, but that depends, among other things, on whether the guy that profiled the barrel was setting up carefully, and what tolerances he was working to. You can use a long precisely fitted pin in the bore to indicate off, but you will need some sensitive indicators, as well as an accurately fitted pin for it to be worth the effort.

Best bet, is to get a few decent books, videos, or other information that will show you the what's and the why's. Esp. the why's.

I am not about to suggest that the work is beyond you, just that you should be clear on how to setup and why, before you cut metal and risk your part.

Cheers