What's new
What's new

Master Disc Measurement

Blix666

Plastic
Hello. I'm pretty new to the field (4 months) and had a question regarding proper measurement of a Master Disc. I'ts not a Go\NoGo, simply a reference standard for a snap gage.

The size of the disc is 4.690" and the class is XX.

Now the tolerance chart I have tells me that I have .000065" of tolerance...Does this mean I have +/-.000065"?

Thanx!

4 months experience and you're making master gages?

I'm a little uncertain about modern gaging standards but in days of yore gages were made so part of the tolerance was the wear allowance. The few real gages I made I halved the tolerance and made the gage by that amount over the specified size.

In this level of precision choice of material, its heat treatment, and its post heat-treatment stabilization will determine the success or failure of the gage. Most steels as subgect to long term distortion and volume changes measured in the tens of micro-inches. You need a good gage steel, one that's through hardening.

If the material has not yet been selected I would reccommend Timken 52100 bearing steel or O5 tools steel. Follow the manufacurer's recommendations for heat treatment followed by two or more thermal cycles between draw temperature and a cryogenic soak avoiding rapid temperature changes.

Allow grind stock on all reference surfaces leaving lapping stock on the gaging fearures. Be sure to lap the gage centers before you grind. Roundness is tough to correct with a saddle lap. You have to build a series of ring laps.

So I suggest you make your gage to 4.690033" + 0.000010. These tolerance aren't hard to hit provided your gaging equipment is accurate, your setting masters or gage blocks are Grade AA, their calibration is current, you use the calibration sheet to determine the actual size of each block, and use this information to correct the block height. Temperature and cleanliness is excrutiatingly important.