What's new
What's new

ethics question

spork2367

Aluminum
So, I'm a part time CNC machinist at a local repetitive job shop. Not just a button pusher. I design and build fixtures, do a ton of programming, QC, first part inspection...etc. As of the last month, stuff has been slowing down. Overtime was eliminated...last year I was layed off about this time. They don't lay off full time employees, but I'm only working 30 hours a week while I finish up school. They really want me when I graduate...they likely won't get me as I'm a manufacturing engineering major, and they want me as a machinist, but if they lay me off, I have a choice to make.

I just purchased a nice Deckel FP4A awhile back. When we are slow at work we do a lot of little one and two part orders for companies that we often do larger orders for. I know for a fact that one company right now has sent a pile of prints for these small part orders. If I get layed off, would it be unethical to contact this company, explain that I have extensive experience machining their parts, and tell them I'm a small shop just starting up, and would be interested in quoting any small part orders they have? I can certainly underbid my current employer being that my overhead is so much less.

Any opinions on this would be appreciated. The owner of the shop I'm currently at is interested solely in the bottom line. He is not a machinist, and has almost no knowledge of machining. The only reason they don't lay off full time employees is because that was the policy when the current owners father owned and ran the business.

First, how will your present employeer react to finding out you hunted down an existing customer? Chances are they will find out. Then how good of a reference will they be for you when you go job hunting with your new degree? I am disappointed you even entertained the thought.