What's new
What's new

Virtual mauser clone

Status
Not open for further replies.

Quick Karl

Hot Rolled
I've always wanted the Ultimate Mauser, so I started drawing one up! I know there are people that bash the Mauser design, but I still think it is the hands down best bolt gun design ever concieved in terms of ultimate reliability and built-in safety -- I just wonder how in the heck they made something so far ahead of it's time back in the days of manual machines and pencil&paper calculators...

I'm curious if there are any other Mauser gunsmiths reading this forum and what their opinions are if they were going to manufacture one with today's technologies? There has GOT to be a few wise old-timers out there! :D

Try making one with the inner C ring that has the left bolt race way stop at the C ring -- tell me how they did that and why no one can today! :D

Has anyone ever heard of Fred Wells from Prescott AZ? He used to make these from scratch all on manual machines...

cff47a5f.jpg

I still have one friend from MC, a superb person named Mike Wiskey, and I met lots of other good people there, but, I'll fill in the rest in a pm...

A gun designed around 1870, what a development history.
My grandfather never said anything about the Mauser. But he said the Luger in WWI was lousy. He was a machinist at Skoda, drafted into the Austrian army, sent to Vienna and trained as a gunsmith, and assigned to a jaeger btn.
John

Try making one with the inner C ring that has the left bolt race way stop at the C ring -- tell me how they did that and why no one can today! :D

I have no argument about the Mauser action. It is a good, stout piece of work.

They were, like any other article produced in this time period, manufactured in factories with large numbers of machines and machinists, each operating a more or less dedicated machine that was set up to perform one operation. The "inner C ring" would be a simple lathe boring operation.