What's new
What's new

Newby chiming in to say HI

matstng

Plastic
Hello everyone. I am new to machining and have aquired a 1954 10EE which I'm setting up in my backyard shop. I plan on spending a bit of time here doing a lot of reading and asking questions.

Matt

Here she is before being moved. I've also picked up a 10HP rotory converter (Does this sound like enough to run it?) and will be wiring sometime over the weekend.

lathe.jpg

"I've also picked up a 10HP rotory converter (Does this sound like enough to run it?)"

An M-G machine usually runs about 6.5 HP, more or less.

A 7.5 HP RPC is usually enough, but 10 HP is not over-kill.

The spindle motor on pre-1957 machines is 3 HP, but the electro-mechanical drive (Ward-Leonard) is around 50 percent efficient.

Welcome Matt,

That is a very nice looking machine, looks like it lead an easy life. A 10 HP rotary should be fine for a M/G. You are pretty close by, holler if you need something.

Steve

Thanks Steve,
I may take you up on your help offer. I think I'll need it but want to see if I can fugure it out.

Hi Matt,

Welcome aboard!

Does it have a motor/generator (M/G) drive? Do you know what voltage it was last running from?

Cal

I'm not sure Cal. How can I tell if it's got the generator? I'm also not sure on the voltage it was last run with. I do see a 120V transformer on the back of the machine.

Matt,

I am not really clear on the M/G wiring, is the fused disconnect on the back of the machine? What is the fuse rating on these voltage and amps? The transformer I mentioned in on the tube machines. The motor wiring should tell you what voltage it is taped for as well. The fuses are a quick check if present.

Steve