What's new
What's new

Is a Monarch 10EE compund and taper attachment worth selling?

What about the rest of a 1944 monarch 10ee? no tailstock, motor and electrics are suspect, but the rest was in workable condition. I passed up on the lathe as I could not afford to buy the lathe and the tailstock.

I think I could purchase the rest of it for maybe $250....

If you can pick up a parts machine for $250, go for it. If you're willing to part it out you can do a lot of people a favor and make a few dollars while you're at it.

Why do you say the "motor and electrics are suspect"? Does it have the original motor/generator (MG) drive?

Cal

I do not know anything about the drive system. I am assuming its original. I am not very good with electrical other than I can follow directions. The owner was trying to wire it, said the "3rd leg powered the pump" or something to the effect.

The owner was not familiar with the machine as he owned the shopped, but didnt work the machines...

I encourage you to get it. It may be a perfectly good lathe. If you have the room it can still be a dandy second operations machine without the tailstock. You can probably adapt a tailstock from some other machine to it until a real 10EE tailstock shows up. I wouldn't write the drive system off until you have more information. Many a fine 10EE has been scrapped simply because an owner didn't understand how the drive system worked and lost patience. Nine times out of ten it's something very simple. His ignorance may be your key to a nice toolroom lathe for very little money.

Cal

Here are some pics of what I have. All I have done is wipe away some grime.

As for the lathe, I told the seller to hang on, that I might find someone who wants it. I dont want to mess with it.

DSCF0086.jpg

DSCF0087.jpg

Here are some pics of what I have. All I have done is wipe away some grime.

As for the lathe, I told the seller to hang on, that I might find someone who wants it. I dont want to mess with it. ...