What's new
What's new

New guy with the same old Mill.

Fabsmith

Plastic
Hi folks, Im new to the forum though ive spent a lot of time reading and researching here. Personally ive always been into metal work from welding to blacksmithing and more recently machining. I work as a fabricator/tig welder for baxter. a pharma company that makes 65% of the IV bags in the US. I repair the trays and carts the bags are transported on. all stainless and aluminum.

Now that should be enough about me, on to the scrap pile that brings me here.. Before i post it i want to start by saying NO im not delirious and no i dont expect to or ever plan to make this thing brand new or fully restored. Financially i dont feel like it would make much sense. However i would like to at minimum get it running or usable manually. If i can get it that far for 1200 or less ill be plenty happy with it. I certainly dont want to be a guy who comes in with all these big plans and ideas with a thread that is never completed. If its not salvageable, it still has a plenty of decent looking parts that i could sell off. After all i only paid $350 for it.

The backstory is, local machine/welding shop set it outside the shop when they purchased a larger machine. it sat outside but covered for about half a year before i found it and drug it home.

Heres the info i have gotten from the machine its self

It is a Bridgeport Knee Mill

Knee serial 12/BR 53389
Door Model # 53389
Drive SN 2J 59551
Head J143036
Motor 1.5 HP

Ive dated it myself to 1961 for the main body anyway. the head im not so sure about..

BR-52599 - BR-58552 = 1961

I took a lot of pics of its current state and for a machine made in the early 60s its still very solid. However from the info ive been gathering, im not so sure the head is original to the rest of it. If any one could tell me more info on it based on the pics and numbers id appreciate it greatly.

Uploading pics for post 2