What's new
What's new

Spindle Plain Bearing Journal Concentricity

thomasutley

Hot Rolled
I'm having a South Bend 16" plain bearing spindle reworked with hard chrome to repair a damaged front journal surface. Two questions to consider:

1. What is the max concentricity deviation between the new journal and the original factory journal that plain bearings should be able to tolerate?
  2. How far undersized could the new journal be finished and the bearing expanders still take up the slack?

For reference, the South Bend factory spec on the journal in question is 2.8735" to 2.8740", ground and superfinished to 2-4 microinches.

Thanks,

Tom

Really hard questions Tom, I don’t have a clue of the answers to those questions, but one thing just struck me...Of course, I’m a noob so I may have not thought this through fully...

While those shops are reworking the concentricity of the bearing journals, have you been keeping an eye on the internal bore as well? I was thinking if you ever turn between centers or use a collet, that would have to match the outside concentricity or you’ll have good performance with a chuck but a wobble with a collet or center.
Actually, as I write this, I wonder if you also have to worry about the spindle taper concentricity although maybe that comes out in the wash with a machined in place chuck adapter?
Maybe the grinding house knows this or have a way to guarantee all surfaces are concentric just by the technique or methodology they use. I assume in the factory, all surfaces are ground in the same setup.

This is a very interesting topic for sure. Your labor of love continues.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Barry, in this case, there is only one non-original surface, the one that is being chromed and reground. The original factory 60-degree grinding centers are still present on the ID at each end of the spindle.