What's new
What's new

1" spade drill on a 16" ?

leod

Aluminum
I am putting a 3 hp. on my 16" but I am still skeptical about it pushing a 1" spade bit. I have never used one before. What are your experiences on using them on old machines, if not 1", what would be the largest I could use? Any advice on a coolant pump the won't cost as much as my 40's lathe would be helpful also.

Needing a little more info, what make and model is your 16"? is it a belt drive or gear head? What material are you drilling? I push a 2-1/4" series II spade in my 1939 16" monarch through a torch cut blank of 3" A514 a couple times a week, every week for a repeat offending job, wouldn't do it but money talks! I use a Little Giant coolant pump purchased on eBay for $100 +/-, a snap-lock concoction and simple ball valve to get the coolant to the point of contact. Push speeds and feeds just enough to keep the chips grey to a hint of straw color and my spade inserts make about 30" before they need a regrind... TIN coating on the spade inserts is a plus, my regrinds remove the coating and reduce the inserts efficiency but it pays. My Monarch only has a 5hp, but I have pushed a 3" spade through A36 and 1018 with no issues.

I am putting a 3 hp. on my 16" but I am still skeptical about it pushing a 1" spade bit. I have never used one before. What are your experiences on using them on old machines, if not 1", what would be the largest I could use? Any advice on a coolant pump the won't cost as much as my 40's lathe would be helpful also.
depends on metal alloy being drilled. normally if you remove a cubic inch of metal a minute and metal is 1018 steel it will take no more than 0.8hp. at a slow feed rate you will use less hp. you might have a problem drilling faster than 3.0 inch per minute feed