What's new
What's new

10" South Bend I just got.

DonTen

Plastic
I just got this 10" South Bend. I am new to these and I have heard the term "Heavy 10"? Is that what I got? the serial number is LT-106R 4512RKT9. I am picking up the original base tomorrow. It is missing a LOT of the gears but at the price of free I had to take it. I hope gears are not to expensive. Can you guys tell me about how old it is? ThanksCIMG6160.jpgCIMG6161.jpgCIMG6162.jpgCIMG6164.jpgCIMG6165.jpg

Great price you paid. Set of geara perhaps $200. you dont need all the greas up fromt..Plenty of oil with a littl spirets added and clean up parts,
Don't wire brush number dials.

if an oil spondle be sure it has oil..dont even turn it if in doubt.

Can you guys tell me about how old it is?

Between 1950 and 1955

Yes, a Heavy 10 - but may be 11/16 collet or 1" collet - the latter has a 1 3/8 bore thru the spindle

Here is a little brochure on the 1" collet version

http://www.wswells.com/data/catalog/1951_Bltn_No.5135/1951_Bltn_No.5135.pdf

Thanks to Mr. Wells for hosting this

If you can get that tag riveted on the QC gear box to be readable, the catalog number will start with 187 on the 1" collet version, and 199 on the smaller spindle hole version

Late 1952 10R or 10L, would have to measure spindle as John said. Also, this would have been about the first year of the double tumbler gearbox, and it was narrow ratio.

allan

Well for free you could not have gone wrong. The QCGB is missing its guts. With a sprocket on the input shaft this must have been an unusual setup. There is also another apron from another machine in that pile. The spindle is removed and I hope you have the bearings and caps. You will certainly get all the help you need from this forum to reassemble that machine. It is best to lay it all out and post pics of everything you have. IMO it may turnout to be a parts for sale machine rather than a put together and use machine.