What's new
What's new

10" Spindle bearing mystery.....

ElliotKonner

Plastic
So...I have this 10" south bend lathe, and I decided to refurbish the headstock due to lots of play in both directions. Upon disassembly-I found bearing shims under the bearings themselves-as shown in the pictures. I dont understand why someone would shim in this manner-but I am new to this world of precision-so I am asking the good folks her at PM. I thought the shims were to be placed under the bearing caps-to shim the caps up-rather than shimming the BEARINGS up against the spindle. The bearings are the type with the adjusters on top, and they wrap fully around the spindle-they are NOT split. The spindle is the "large" spindle, and it takes the 1 7/8 felt washer (I am also on the hunt for the roller bearing upgrade)in front of the locking collar. Lathe Serial# 4089RKL11

THANKS!!

IMG_7055.jpgIMG_7056.jpg

The spindle is the "large" spindle, and it takes the 1 7/8 felt washer (I am also on the hunt for the roller bearing upgrade)in front of the locking collar.

THANKS!!

View attachment 305014View attachment 305015

Such a thing may exist, I'm just not aware of it.

The locking nut side of that spindle cap, typically isn't working hard, so to speak. Yea, the nut and washer hold thrust, but no working weight should be shoving that direction.

The opposite side of that spindle cap, holds the opposite side of thrust, and does see a working load. Which is why there should be a roller bearing there.

The direction of cuts taken. . . Saddle pushes toward chuck, in turn shoving spindle back. Which is why one side has a roller bearing.

Not to say never, but mostly you are not pushing the spindle the opposite way.

Have seen bronze washers with locating pin for that side on ebay though.

Example, but not sure of OD or ID, contact seller for specs:
SOUTH BEND 10L HEAVY 10 REPLACEMENT THRUST WASHER | eBay