What's new
What's new

10K??

caltom

Aluminum
There's a machine dealer within 3 miles of my house and they have this 10" SB for $2950. Well thing is, I'm rather new to machining. I'm not looking to butter my bread with any machines, it's just a means to make some things I want to make for myself. I figure a 10 - 12" lathe will suit my needs fine, but I just haven't had the exposure to metalworking machines. Anyway, what's the difference between a 10K and any other 10" SB? (I know the heavy 10 is a different animal) I looked at lathes.co.uk but it didn't explain the differences between A, B, C or K models. So what are the differences?

Oh and here's the lathe I looked at. I would welcome any thoughts on this machine, is it junk or a diamond in the rough?
http://www.astratool.com/machines/ph3960.htm

That's a 10K, the machine is built on a 9 inch South Bend bed and carriage.

That one could be the toolroom model since it has the taper attachement, thoerise it is a model A

Model A means that the machine has a quick change box and power long. and cross feed works in the apron.

Model B's had the feed works in the apron but had standard change (loose) gears.

Model C's had standard change gears and no feed works in the apron, long. feed was through the half nuts.

The machine in the pic is modern and looks pretty good.

There are members of this board who have gotten comparable machines for half to one third of Astra's asking price.

Notice the photos are dated 2002. This isn't a used machine, it is a museum piece.

around here (southern tier NY) you could buy a Hardinge HLV- or 2 Monarch 10ee's in similar condition to the one in your photo, for the listed price, last couple years at auction.

It's hard to comment on "worth" since a new improt of similar capability will cost about the same. But that dealer is askin about twice what those go for in that condition, with those accessories (taper attachment, steady rest)