What's new
What's new

10K taper attachment

Rabible Rouser

Plastic
I'm new to this site and doing my first post.
I bought a 10K lathe and then got a taper attachment for it which I bought on ebay.
Will the crossfeed screw on the lathe now work, or do I need to get another?
I don't know if it means anything but I have both large and small dial knobs. There was a parts machine that came with the lathe, that's why I have both.
I am new to running a lathe (home/hobby) and suggestions on some good literature to read to get me started are very welcome.
I have the How to run a lathe book by SB, but it leaves a lot to be desired.
Thank you,
Ron

The crossfeed nut and crossfeed slide are different. They are not interchangeable with the taper attachment. The crossfeed slide actually attaches to the taper attachment. The nut, Has a single screw accessible from the top that is removed when using the taper attachment. This allows the slide to move freely. If you do not remove that screw, the tapir attachment will be pulling against the lead screw/nut, and it can damage something.

the 9N and 10K are the same.
For more information, refer to this document. http://www.wswells.com/data/howto/9_taper_Install.pdf.