What's new
What's new

1925 9 inch

D3faulted

Plastic
New to the forum and fairly inexperienced with lathes. Played around with one back in college and haven't touched one in a decade. I'm a mechanic at a golf course I enjoy fabricating things and have wanted one for awhile, i run into a fair amount of stuff that i could use a lathe for. Particularly the rollers on the cutting units. I picked this up for $500 over the weekend i hope it was worth it. It didn't come with a 4 jaw chuck, what is a decently priced one?

20160919_133227_zpsmx0ytw88.jpg

20160919_133247_zpsqf3kqwfj.jpg
20160919_133303_zpsfimn71y9.jpg
20160919_133337_zpszrzy81dl.jpg

20160918_190637_zpscqn84oms.jpg

Every body wants a good deal and we are afraid that maybe we paid too much, It seems to me that we forget that machine tools are tools. It's not about what they cost it is about how much can they make. Some of the tools that I have, the added value is not in $ but in how much I enjoy using them. The photos you have presented show a nice clean machine, which in my possession would easily give me the amount you paid just in pure joy. Now the heart of you question. Small potential hobby machines bring a premium. Most of us guys are pretty willing to pay lots, sometimes in my part of the world, thousands, for just such a machine. A friend of mine sold his fathers 9 in south bent for $2400 in sunny flagstaff AZ. Tim

I'm pretty certain that I saw that lathe a couple of weeks ago when I bought my Bridgeport. The gentleman was getting on in years and selling off all of his shop machines to downsize.

If it's the same one, from the few minutes I looked at it and saw it run it appeared to be a very nice machine is excellent condition for its age. If I had the extra cash with me at the time I would not have hesitated to bring it home with me.

I'm glad to see it went to someone who will appreciate and make good use of it. Enjoy!