What's new
What's new

1978 South Bend 10k Just acquired. Help - Taper Attachment

Patsy57

Plastic
Hello all first Im new to the board and happy to be here! I have recently acquired my first lathe its a 1978 Southbend 10 (CL370ZD).

I am trying to fit the lathe with a taper attachment, but Im concerned that I won't aquire the right set offline because I have no idea what the part numbers are for my lathe. I went to Grizzly and did the serial number thing, which gave me some information but not anything usable.

Any help is appreciated! Also any insight aside from the taper attachment you can give me about my lathe would be appreciated. I am new to all this and eager to learn! I have also been searching the boards tirelessly :)

Thanks again!

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2018-09-28 at 1.34.52 AM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2018-09-28 at 1.34.52 AM.jpg
    19.2 KB · Views: 131
When I zoom in on your serial card it gets really fuzzy but it looks like yours was shipped with a taper attachment from the factory. (TAP100NK) Often times they are removed and sold.

Just watch ebay until you find a complete taper attachment for a 9/10k. They are the same. You will need the telescopic crossfeed screw/handle/dial assembly to replace your one piece handle/dial/screw. There's a taper attachment on ebay now but it doesn't have the crossfeed screw or handle. I'd just wait and get a complete one. I see them on there very frequently.

9/10k taper att. doesnt telescope, it uses the same cross feed screw assembly with a different cross slide casting...to use it you remove the screw that holds the cross feed nut to free the cross slide, lock the taper att binding levers, and feed with the compound.

9/10k taper att. doesnt telescope, it uses the same cross feed screw assembly with a different cross slide casting...to use it you remove the screw that holds the cross feed nut to free the cross slide, lock the taper att binding levers, and feed with the compound.