What's new
What's new

9A Reverse Idler Stud Repair

Bob Leistner

Plastic
Could I chuck up the front portion of the stud and drill into it,then tap it for , say 5/16"?Then bolt it in from behind the bracket. Since I am new to this it seems as though this would be my safest option.

Could I chuck up the front portion of the stud and drill into it,then tap it for , say 5/16"?Then bolt it in from behind the bracket. Since I am new to this it seems as though this would be my safest option.

See if its hardened or not with a file. Silly to try to repair something you cannot cut on or drill - way less effort to make a new one

I know I have those bolts from a newer SB nine. Give me a bit of time to see if I can help you. If I have them I will ship them to you. Post a pic of the headstock. Is that a Junior?

It is a 9A with a 4 ft. bed QCGB and Silent Drive. Where it broke looks like cast iron and maybe 1/4".Very coarse grain structure unlike any bolt that I have ever seen.I would guess that even 10Ft-Lbs. of tightening would be asking for trouble.

Bob, That reverser you have there has to be from a Junior 9". They were larger than the newer 9" lathes that are more popular at this time. I looked high and low and only have the newer reverser bolts. Looking at your dimensions in the pic mine are 1/2" shorter. Sorry I could not be of any help. I think the plan you have to drill and tap may work or just have a go at making a complete bolt. Good luck.

After looking at the 1928 version of "How To Run a Lathe", it appears that the conversion to the new style started in 1925.
I tried to figure out the search without any success.
So, is this lathe now actually a type "N"?
I hope I am not reinventing the wheel.