What's new
What's new

Beginner here. Should I grab this heavy 10?

Tinnut

Plastic
First post and looking for my first lathe!
Found a word of mouth deal on a "late 40s" heavy 10. Price is $800 firm.

What i know:
- needs a good cleaning
- it runs. Sounded smooth.
- ways looked to be in good condition (to my untrained eye) no heavy knicks. Couldn't feel a ridge or anything.
- carriage moved like butter
- power/crossfeed works but makes a little whine noise
- comes "with everything" but won't know until i get it home. Lets assume BASIC tooling. Its buried in a garage can't get a good look at everything.
- 48" bed

I would prefer something like this over some Chinese machine. I could spend the money on something nicer down the road. But thats hard to do without getting my feet wet first. Which is why I'm considering this south bend.

As a beginner its not very fun to fix something more than you use it. But maybe it could be a good solid entry into the hobby?

Here's the pics in the link below

Practical machinist - toys & games - by owner - sale

I guess my main worry is a money pit and am wondering if i should bump up to the 2500-3k price range.

Last edited:
I don't know how you tested them, but there are significant ridges in the ways. However, you could part it out for more than you paid if it comes to that.

Take the cover off the bull gear and check for hillbilly teeth.

Taper attachment-mic carriage stop big pluses. Down side no QC box ,be sure there are the gears for it there. As said look for missing teeth on the back gears. L model = Heavy 10 ++++ Be a great beginner machine even with some bed wear which in reality has minimal effect on most work.

I don't know how you tested them, but there are significant ridges in the ways. However, you could part it out for more than you paid if it comes to that.

Take the cover off the bull gear and check for hillbilly teeth.