What's new
What's new

Deal or No Deal on South Bend 10" Lathe

dodgediesel2

Plastic
Let me begin with this...I am a rookie when it comes to machining. I am an experienced (hobbyist) welder looking to expand his skills and his shop. I do side work when I have time and usually gross $15-25K a year on the side. I know nothing about lathes and what to look for or keep an eye out for when it comes to purchasing one. I do have a buddy who works at a machine shop that can give me some pointers, but thats about it.

I came across a craigslist add today for a SB 10" lathe. He's asking $2k OBO. He sent me a few pics, but I have no idea what Im looking at and what to look for as far as quality, durability, and so on. All I know is SB is a helluva lathe and Im hoping this might be a good buy. The serial number is 1175RKL8.

Here is what the guy texted me back about the add:

"It is wired for 110v"
"It comes with some tooling"
"It runs"
"It needs to be cleaned and lubed"
"Im selling it cuz I haven't used it in 5 years"

Here are the pics he texted me

Any help would be much appreciated

Attachments

• IMG_0190.jpg
    IMG_0190.jpg
    7.1 KB · Views: 282
  • 55173323726__3B277470-97DC-4E9A-9C07-3D20CEE1A4D2.jpg
    55173323726__3B277470-97DC-4E9A-9C07-3D20CEE1A4D2.jpg
    16.7 KB · Views: 307
  • 55173321571__AFF59EFC-7800-4033-B3FB-B3310B958E76.jpg
    55173321571__AFF59EFC-7800-4033-B3FB-B3310B958E76.jpg
    13.7 KB · Views: 357
  • 55173321370__B1E67DB5-61D3-4D13-936E-FE436B44C089.jpg
    55173321370__B1E67DB5-61D3-4D13-936E-FE436B44C089.jpg
    16.4 KB · Views: 277
  • 55173320163__54D28CEA-3299-423E-B6F5-88240536B2D6.jpg
    55173320163__54D28CEA-3299-423E-B6F5-88240536B2D6.jpg
    17.2 KB · Views: 305
I wouldn't pay that much

It looks like more than five years of dirt + moisture= rust

It also looks like it's sitting outside.

It does have a milling attachment - which may be handy, or may be sold to reduce your costs.

500 bucks maybe if you want to clean it all.