What's new
What's new

Drill Chuck Spun in Tailstock Taper

Domodude17

Aluminum
I was doing some drilling with a 9/16" bit over the weekend on my 9", the drill bit caught and the drill chuck taper spun in the tailstock. I felt inside the taper and it didn't feel like there were any large ridges formed, but it's definitely been scored in the past. I think the drill bit pulled the taper forwards out of the lock instead of spinning in place.

Would it be worth getting a 2 morse taper reamer to clean up the taper? Am I more likely to just make things worse than sufficiently clean it up? Should I try some high spotting compound to see if this is really even an issue? I've never used high spotting compound before.

If I end up reaming, i'm assuming i'd want to hand ream without center support from the headstock, so it doesn't get misaligned at all if the centers arn't perfectly aligned.

Thoughts?

I guess it just depends on what level of precision you are using the tail stock for. As long as they are still holding onto the taper, you shouldn't have to worry about it. I try to stay away from drilling over 1/2" with a Morse 2 taper tail stock and use the tool post instead.

If it was me, I'd consider how much wear is in the bed and if there's any drop in the tail stock currently. IMO you are better off fixing that first and the taper last. If you know your tail stock is lined up perfectly with the spindle, I'd think you'd would want to use the spindle to ream the quill so it maintains alignment and there's no risk of your hands pushing it one way or the other, but I've never done one either.

A couple of our lathes have spun-quills. But I'm not going to mess with them until they are lined up perfectly with the spindle.

most dont bother reaming unless taper never holds even if tapped with a lead hammer