What's new
What's new

Glueing a serpintine belt

lobsterman

Plastic
Hi All,
I am new to the forum. I was an MR in the Navy 40+ years ago. I then did an apprenticeship at Kearney & Trucker for Machine tool Rebuild. Then went to Martine Marietta as CNC machine repair, Now Lockheed Martin, and now I am an electronics technician repairing CNC Grinders and polisher, and Optical coating chambers. I still support the machine shop when needed, but mostly stay in optics. I am Still at Lockheed and hoping to retire soon.
My path has taken me away from actual machining except a few repairs, and projects in our maintenance machine shop, but I am still working around machine tools. Although this carrier path has been good to me I have always missed cutting metal, and making, or repairing something. The other day I ran into a deal on a 9" South Bend model A buried in a guys garage that I just couldn't pass up. I have been cleaning it up, and so far everything seems like it should work. Of course the belts are gone. I have a v-belt for the drive, but of course need the flat belt. I have been browsing the forum and see that a great replacement is the serpentine belt from a car/truck. Thank you all for the great posts. They have been very informative. Unfortunately for some reason I can not see the photos that are posted. And I see a reference to, "how to run a lath" for lacing, which I have not found yet. I am sure it is just because that I am not familiar enough with the site. If any one could direct me to finding the information on splicing and gluing, or splicing a serpentine belt I would appreciate it. Also if you know why I can not see the pictures that would be helpful. I am also looking for the best glue that you guys have been using for these splices.
The picture is as I put the parts together. I will post another picture when I get it cleaned up and hopefully running.

Sout Bend Lathe.jpg