What's new
What's new

Got a South Bend in my garage... now what?

moya034

Aluminum
Hello everyone!

This is my first post on these forums. I'm currently an out of work welder who is very interested in machining. I'm also in the process of completing my backyard foundry.

I've been fond of old, quality, American machinery for quite some time, so when I found this gem on craigslist, and had my tax return money burning a hole in my pocket, I jumped on it. Bagged it for $400. I bought it from a gentleman who had purchased it from the Danbury Mint at least 15 years ago. It's been in his garage, seldom used since. He told me that it is a "student lathe". It seems to be very ruggedly built.

Serial Number: 165342 (91) I deduced from some info I found online that this was built in 1945. Shortly, I will order the serial number card from South Bend.

The ways appear to be in great condition. The screws seems to turn well. He did turn it on for me. It seemed to run quite smooth with no vibration. It is a 3 phase motor, so I will need to look into either getting a phase converter, or a single phase motor to bolt in.

I plan to do a full restoration on this machine, and afterwards, learn to use it, and hopefully make some useful parts.

I've been reading about machining and safety online, however my knowledge of the equipment is severely lacking, so I am really writing this post seeking guidance to the best approach to take with this machine. I respect American Iron, and don't want to dive in head first without having the proper knowledge.

I'm sure a good start would be an owners manual.

Also, I do have the motor housing door. I removed it for safe transit.

Edit: A friend will be bringing a dial indicator over so I can measure the spindle/chuck runout.

lathe.jpg