What's new
What's new

Have I over chucked my south bend 9C?

haus

Plastic
Hi...

I've lurked and gathered very helpful tips here for about a month since picking up a 1939 South Bend 9C. I'm brand new to machining and this is my first lathe. She spun up nicely at purchase but I have yet to set up in my studio as I'm building a sturdy butcher block style bench and acquiring some bits like a few change gears and a replacement chuck.

The jaws on the 5" Union scroll chuck that came with the machine are quite worn but I thought no matter as I want a larger 4 jaw anyway. Having read elsewhere on this forum that 6" about right for these SB workshop lathes I picked up a very nice 6 1/2" on ebay. The point I neglected to consider is whether I should look for a light or a heavy duty chuck. The one I picked up turned out to be a heavy duty Burnerd that tops the scale at 25 lbs (about 4 times the 5" I want to replace)! With chuck mounted & spindle spun by hand everything feels buttery smooth and I would expect some extra weight could be useful to prevent problems like chatter but see my pictures... the chuck certainly looks large for the machine. I plan to face the backing plate before using any chuck I purchase (I learned that here) but my question is, would a chuck this heavy be at all useful or even safe for use on a South Bend 9?
IMG_1996.jpg
Original
IMG_1997.jpg
"New" chuck
IMG_1998.jpg
5" to 6.5"
IMG_1999.jpg
4" deep
IMG_2000.jpg
Opened to 7", ~1/2" clearance to bed

Thanks - Mike

FWIW, I run an 8" 4 jaw on my 10L. It looks pretty darn big but does the job fine. I don't spin it too fast.

I have a 6" 4 jaw as well, but the extra holding capacity on the 8" and the bore size means it is the one I normally reach for.

Greg.

Hi...