What's new
What's new

Heavy 10 restoration

RobbyWeeds

Aluminum
Just wanted to share a project I'm working on. I am probably doing it all wrong but I really enjoy the restoration process. The lathe is in rough shape but the ways, gears and spindle are pretty good. Let me know any ideas. Just be kind because I have very little money and I am a beginner.

Thanks for looking.

Pictures of the resoration

Attachments

• 20181030_180647.jpg
    20181030_180647.jpg
    99.3 KB · Views: 225
  • 20181031_193620.jpg
    20181031_193620.jpg
    96.7 KB · Views: 184
  • 20181101_215936.jpg
    20181101_215936.jpg
    92.8 KB · Views: 196
I would really recommend taking everything apart so you can inspect it, then you can paint without having to tape everything off. At least take the major assemblies off.

I have everything off except gearbox and spindle head. Would you recommend doing that as well? It seems those 2 would be very difficult to get off

At least remove the paint from the face of the gear box, where all the holes are.

That surface is supposed to be bare metal. Painting surfaces that were originally bare just says a rank amateur has been turned loose on the machine.

I have everything off except gearbox and spindle head. Would you recommend doing that as well? It seems those 2 would be very difficult to get off