What's new
What's new

Introduction and request for help identifying lathe

Oldmansteve

Plastic
Hi all. I wanted to introduce myself, and then ask for some help from those more knowledgable than I. I have been lurking on this site for over a year now, reading everything I could about my old lathe as I try and restore it. I am a not a professional machinist, but more of a machinist wanna-be. I like to work on all things mechanical as a hobby. Over the years I've restored cars, motorcycles, welders, and old machinery. Taught myself how to weld, machine simple things (have a friend with the equipment), fabricate etc. It's sort of decompression for me in what is otherwise a very stressful career at times. I acquired this old lathe (pic below) that had been in storage for a VERY long time. It was grimy, covered in decades of old grease and wood chips/sawdust (they were using it as a wood lathe) but no rust and appeared to be in great mechanical shape. It came with original 3-jaw Chushman chuck, original wrenches, original lantern tool post, original motor, complete bench model countershaft setup, tail chuck, centers, cutting tools etc. but few change gears. I know, I know... few change gears...but for what I wanted it for that was okay. I was determined to restore it as a project and I actually needed a lathe. It sat for over a year because life is busy, but with the coronavirus isolation crisis I suddenly found I had time to work on it. So after a year of research, learning everything I could on these old South Bends, a couple of months ago I finally dug in.