What's new
What's new

Keeping my heavy 10 in a cold garage

Dan1900

Aluminum
So that time of year is coming around when it gets cold here in MI/Southern Ontario. My almost finished heavy 10 is currently being stored in an unheated garage.

My question: is there any risk involved with losing accuracy by storing and using the lathe in these cold conditions? My background is woodworking and I know that wood can expand and contract pretty significantly with temperature (*humidity) changes.

I know metal to a lesser extent also expands and contracts with these variations. Am I crazy to worry that my lathe will lose some accuracy by being exposed to the cold weather/seasonal changes?

Bonus pic of almost done heavy 10:

IMG_3831.jpg

Yep, condensation would be the problem. unpainted surfaces are prone to rust. Of course the obvious answer is to keep surfaces well oiled. What I was going to try this winter is to hang a 250 watt heat lamp up high pointing down on my BP to keep the surfaces just warm enough to keep condensation from forming.

Lack of oil and quick warming are your enemies. I rutinely park a wet car inches from my machinery (not the best it's what I have to do). I keep things well oiled down and when I go out to the shop on cold days I have to stagger the heating. Bring it up to 40° and wait an hour, bring it up another 10° and wait, etc. this keeps the dew point down and the machines won't sweat. I haven't noticed much with the accuracy, but then again they are old machines. My Seneca Falls is approaching 115 years old:). I did notice one winter the spindle seized tight and I had to loosen the adjuster on the outboard end a bit. I'm not sure if it was the cold or not.

ultra cheap- hang a incandescent light over the machine. Even in zero degree weather it will radiate enough warmth to keep the machine ready.