What's new
What's new

9" South Bend, No 415YO, to buy or not to buy?

ThatsAmoreEel

Plastic
Hi folks,

I am a hobbyist with no experience using a lathe, but looking to expand my parts making abilities.

I recently came across a South Bend 9" lathe, model C9W10JR, CAT NO 415YO, with an asking price of 395$. The machine is missing a few parts including the face plate/ chuck, the tool post, and the tailstock. The belt is also broken at the staples, and the only threading gears are the ones currently attached. It may also having some missing smaller parts that I did not notice with my untrained eyes.

It seems to be in excellent condition, no rust, operates smoothly, gears are in good shape, and I can still see the original filing on the ways.

Is this a good deal, considering I'll have to track down these missing parts? How hard will these parts be to find? I see parts for similar lathes on Ebay. Do the 9" models generally have compatible parts? From what I can tell this machine is an interim model between the 405, and the A, B, and C models. Will that make it more difficult to find what I need?

I mostly want this to be a good deal on a lathe I can use. I'm not a collector, and I'm fairly financially poor. I don't want to end up investing thousands to get this thing working. I just want to get into making stuff, and if I can feel good about my machine being valuable, that's a bonus.

What do y'all think? Should I jump on this? Should I resell it for parts, and use the money to buy a newer machine?

Sorry for the long post. Any advice is greatly appreciated!