What's new
What's new

Model 9B motor & switch wiring

dspahn

Plastic
Hi all. First post here for me. And I'm also brand new to this particular hobby, so please excuse my ignorance.

I recently purchased a 9B and I'm currently in the process of completely tearing it down and cleaning it up. It appears
to be all original, but I could be mistaken on this.

Unfortunately, when I bought it, the motor was separated from the switch, and the seller had no information about how it
was originally wired. So my question is, how the heck do I wire this thing up?

Here's the information I have.

The motor is a GE 1/2 HP, 110V, single phase, model 5KC63AB494:
20170114_120540.jpg

There are 4 leads labeled T1, T2, T3, and T4 with little brass crimps on the leads.

The front and back of the switch look like:
20170114_120613.jpg

20170114_120630.jpg

Here is a little picture I threw together showing how the wires are currently attached to the switch. Blue squares are
the 9 terminals on the back of the switch. The purple lines are jumpers from terminal to terminal. And the diagram is
as if you were looking at the back of the switch.
frs_switch.jpg
The switch has 5 colored leads coming off: white, black, red, green, and what I'm calling orange, but is actually just
a little less red (might once have been brown). I'm not sure why the picture is showing up so small, but for clarity,
the labels on the leads in the diagram, from left to right, are red, white, orange, black, and green. And here is a link
to a larger version: Click for larger image

The only clue I have is that I think T2 was attached to the post in the center of the switch (vertically and horizontally)
because there was a little bit of green insulation on the motor lead immediately after the solder junction, and green is
what's coming off the center post. But I'm hesitant to trust this.

What I'm hoping someone can provide is a wiring for dummies set of instructions. Something like, "Connect T1 to (color).