What's new
What's new

Model A and Model B parts compatibility

Ben1272

Plastic
I am a newb at all this and sadly could not tell you the proper names for all the different parts of my lathe (for now), so please bear with me!

I have a Model B that I have taken down, cleaned, and rebuilt with various new and replaced components along the way. It was not probably deserving of such a rebuild, but it is the lathe I had and I felt compelled, so I did the work. It has a 36" long bed. I bought a rebuild kit with the felts and seals and bearing, and found replacements for the myriad damaged parts. Other than a worn-more-than-i'd-like bed, it is probably not half bad now. My biggest gripe is how sloppy the main handwheel is on the carriage. Question: Maybe there is a way to tighten it up?

Now, I purchased a rough Model A lathe with a 48" long bed. It has v-belts (instead of my flat belt Model B), it came with a decent cabinet, obviously the gearbox, and the rest of it is as rough or rougher than my model B was when I started.

Another question: I am thinking there is probably a way to best combine these two machines to make one better machine. Specifically, I am thinking I'd like to take the Model A head and mount it to my model B bed and also use my refurbished model B carriage and tailstock. Can someone tell me if the leadscrew on my Model B will mount into the gearbox of the model A? If not, could I find the parts needed to do the swap?

Also, the backgear on the model A is missing all sorts of teeth, but my model B has a nice clean backgear. Can I swap them?

I guess, in general, are most of the parts swappable between these machines without some unforeseen problem that a newb like myself would not consider?

Thanks in advance for your help.

-Ben

For the most part,yes.

But it is easiest to cut down the model A lead screw and turn down the the end to fit the bracket.

You will be one bolt short for attaching the gearbox too...that should be addressed also.