What's new
What's new

My First South Bend Lathe

texasgeartrain

Titanium
Hello everyone. New to this forum, also new to lathes. I have spent most of my adult life as a diesel engine mechanic, predominately in the commercial marine field. I have done some machine work in relation to this, with boring cylinder blocks, line bores,etc, but I am not a machinist by trade. On the side, as well as a hobby, I do some work on firearms, mostly euro com block stuff like AK's and such.

To go with my side projects I thought I would get a lathe to help with turning some barrels for fitment in the euro com block firearms, as well as maybe trying to learn threading and some interesting aspects of lathe work.

Forgive me if some of my terminology is off. Well as I began looking and doing some research and I thought I would prefer an old style lathe, the kind I remembered from some old high school workshops or you might see in old naval tool or machine rooms. I decided on a South Bend lathe, and was hoping for a tool room or engine lathe.

In looking around I found an old South Bend Lathe on a farm here in Texas. Considering the cost these days I got it at a reasonable price, though it needs a lot of work, some pieces are missing, and I am thinking to do a full restoration on it. Also it has a turret type tail stock, I was hoping for the more simple tail stock of a tool room lathe.

I will pick it up in a couple of days. I don't know the serial number yet. But I got some pics of it and some of the tags on the machine. I have what I am sure are very amateurish questions and probably have been answered a million times, haha. I have been doing my best to research on my own, but there is such a wealth of information I may not learn it all in this life.

Once I have the serial number I plan on ordering the serial number card from South Bend, as well as any other literature I may be able to acquire. I understand that turret lathes were meant more for production work.