What's new
What's new

My Fist Lathe - 13" Southbend

Jawzx

Plastic
Hi Everybody, I've just brought home my first lathe, a 13" x 5' Southbend under motor with quick change gearbox. This lathe is not an all original unit, the serial number indicates a 1941 year of manufacture, but it has a newer headstock with 5C closer and a newer motor. I've wanted a metal lathe for years, mostly because I just like to try to know how everything works :reading: and how to fix anything. I'm a self-taught mechanic and artist/maker. My degree in sculpture and photography, combined with my fascination with mechanical/electrical/technical things eventually lead me on a path from fine art reproduction color management, to industrial printer maintenance, to manufacturing automation systems, and digital production workflows and now I'm a sheep farmer! As a farmer I could finally justify owning a lathe as a tool, not just a toy :D

IMG_20190718_191219-01.jpg
Not in final position yet, and a bit grimy from the drive. It picked up more dust than I thought it would... I guess you'll have that with oily equipment.

IMG_20190718_173237-01.jpg

IMG_20190718_173328-01.jpg
It's got the taper attachment!

IMG_20190719_091421-02.jpg

IMG_20190718_173302-01.jpg
Yuck. Needs a good wipedown...

I've had a 3D printer for several years and have gotten lots of use out of it. Though I have yet to complete it, I've been working on a small CNC router for a while now too, but this is my first real machine of any note.