What's new
What's new

Mystery South Bend

CK0817

Plastic
Good day to all,
I'm in the process of a possible purchase of a South Bend Lathe that I have very little information on. I've contacted grizzly to try and get information based on the model number, catalog number, and serial number, with no avail. I'm wondering if anybody might be able to help me in this process being that I am new to the South Bend machines. Word is that it came from the Ford Motor Company, it was not equipped with quick change gear system, it looks to be a 10in swing, the spine has a inside diameter of about 1-1/4 in, it is a benchtop lathe with an under motor configuration, there's a bed length of 3, and neither the model number, nor catalog number, nor serial number was able to be identified by grizzly. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm not sure whether I should purchase this machine or not, and I'd like to know what I'm getting into before I put money down on it.
Thanks in advance,
CTK
P.S.- I'm not sure how to post pictures, but if someone could walk me through that process and I'll be more than happy to post what I have if it is of any help.

Welcome, if you click on the "Reply to Thread" Button, bottom left. Top row of icons there is an icon for adding images, looks like a little picture. Browse for your pics and the rest should be self explanatory.

Paul

Sorry guys, I'm new to forums and I'm not very technologically advanced haha. The Model number is 810. The Cat number is 197Y. And the serial number 128468 D.W.W.

10" swing,11/16 collet, change gear, underneath motor drive....see pg 39 here-
http://vintagemachinery.org/pubs/1617/3625.pdf

It would have originally been on the cast iron pedestal base with the leg.
It has a Sheldon 10" tailstock( as long as it fits OK )