What's new
What's new

Need Advice on Value / Where to Sell - 16" Lathe with 8' Bed

Hello everyone,

I am a woodworker by trade and very clueless as to metal working and lathes. A friend of mine acquired a nice South Bend lathe when the owner (a family friend) passed away. I'm trying to help him determine value and sell it, but I've gotten as far as I can. So many of my Google searches brought me to this forum I decided to post her asking for help.

Here is what I know.
Serial Number 9739HKX - I have ordered a copy of the serial number file to determine what the special spindle and swing type are. It was manufactured 1958-1959 according to wswells serial number files.
Model Number CL 8117-E Which is the workshop model with the 8' bed

It was actively used until 2104 to make shot gun barrels. Lots of extra chucks and tools come with it. I will post a couple pictures of the lathe and some of the tools, but I would have 10-15 pictures just of the tools.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Daryl
Lathe1.jpgLathe2.jpgLathe3.jpgLathe4.jpgLathe5.jpg

It looks to have a taper attachment. If it is fully intact and the lathe is in good condition it is worth a good bit. From what I read you live in an area that doesn't have much machinery, so that helps him out with a price. It also will depend on how quickly he wants it moved.

If it were mine I'd start at $3,500 obro and go from there if he has time to wait. You can always come down to accept an offer, or slowly drop the price over time, but you can't ever go back and ask more once it is sold. You don't need 10 people to buy it, you only need one guy with a tax refund check.

Thanks for the reply and advice on pricing.

Where is a good place to list this? Craigslist or Facebook Markeplace doesn't seem like it would hit a target audience.

Thanks!

Craigslist and Facebook Marketplace are THE places to list it. I buy and sell machines on Facebook all the time. Mostly buy but do sell when I run out of room.